A JOURNEY OF SELF-DISCOVERY

28 Jul

GUEST BLOGGER

As a person who has been told “You are so smart!” over and over again by numerous people, ex-wife, supervisors, etc., my “career” leaves a lot to be desired at this stage of my life. My biggest work accomplishments include winning a couple of awards for excellence in customer service and being promoted for two positions that I had NO prior qualifications for. That’s it. Part of the reason for this lack of achievement is a lack of focus on my part; or as I like to call it, having too many interests and abilities.

See, I have been told my whole life that I am exceptional (I learned how to read before I got to kindergarten. Kiddie Class of ’78!) and that has translated into a mixture of confidence and a belief that eventually my talents would be recognized and be rewarded. So I’ve kind of let myself drift along and indulging many, many different interests as they showed up. You might say I suffer from a bit of ADHD in some ways, although I have never been formally diagnosed. IF I do have it, it is a very mild case as I am able to focus on certain tasks for long periods of time, but only as long as they interest me. Once a project no longer interests me or if I cannot see any value in continuing it, I am likely to abandon it no matter how much work went into it up to that juncture. Case in point: During high school I was obsessed with architecture and designing cool-ass buildings. I went to an out-of-state technical school for architectural drafting but because my dad had died the week I graduated from high school and it was such a struggle to get parent and student loans, I only went to school for one year. I left before I could get instruction in computer-aided drafting, which of course would have given me more skills and made the likelihood of me being able to obtain a job in that field much better, so after I arrived home from school, I took a job at McDonald’s. I had worked there before leaving for school; therefore it was familiar and comfortable. In addition, it gave me an income while I lived at home and I had friends that worked there, so it filled a social role for me as well. But I realize now, it was not challenging me mentally. Intelligence can only take you so far. You also need to make sure you challenge yourself on a continual basis.

Posted by:  What I Desired To Say

